News, announcements and more.

Apr 22, 2016

NZ Business Hall of Fame Laureates announced

Eight of New Zealand's top businesspeople have been announced as the 2016 Laureates for the NZ Business Hall of Fame. They will be inducted in a gala dinner on the 9th June at The Langham in Auckland. Tickets for this celebration are now on sale.


This year, around 450 guests will converge at The Langham in Auckland to celebrate the outstanding achievements of eight of New Zealand's top business leaders. They will join the ranks of illustrious Laureates like Sir James Wattie, Dame Wendy Pye, Sir Apirana Ngata, Valentine Barfoot & Maurice Thompson, and Sir James Fletcher. You can read more about the 140+ Laureates currently in the Hall of Fame on the NZBHF website.

NZBHF 2016 ACC landing page thumbnail


  • Thursday 9th June at 6.30pm
  • Tickets $230+GST (or a table of 10 for $2300+GST)
  • Dress code is black tie
  • Tickets are available from the Business Hall of Fame website.


The 2016 Inductees

Hon. Philip Burdon Philip Burdon

Philip Burdon co-founded Meadow Mushrooms which employs more than 500 staff in Canterbury and is one of the largest and most successful agri-businesses in New Zealand. Philip has held a wide range of governance roles, was a Cabinet Minister for six years and created the Asia New Zealand Foundation with Don McKinnon in 1994. He is a generous supporter of the Arts.

Rob Fenwick CNZMRob Fenwick

Rob Fenwick is a passionate environmental entrepreneur. His business ventures include organic waste processor Living Earth, bottled water brand NZ Natural and Te Matuku Bay Oysters. Rob has held governance roles with many organisations including Landcare Research, TVNZ, St John, Antarctica NZ, NZBCSD and Ngati Whatua Orakei and was a finalist in this year’s New Zealander of the Year Awards.

Noel Holyoake Noel Holyoake

Noel Holyoake is a pioneer of New Zealand’s heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) industry. Holyoake Industries is the largest manufacturer of air distribution equipment in the Asia-Pacific region, and employs more than 350 people in New Zealand and Australia. A proud Rotarian, Noel established Rotary's Trees for Survival Project which has planted almost two million trees since its inception.

Sir Peter Jackson ONZ KNZM Sir Peter Jackson

Sir Peter Jackson is an award-winning filmmaker who has changed the New Zealand film industry and its’ reputation across the globe. Sir Peter co-owns a full suite of studio production facilities in Wellington, enabling filmmakers to make films in New Zealand to an international standard. He actively encourages young filmmakers and supports many organisations throughout Wellington, New Zealand and internationally.

Malcolm McConnell OBE Malcolm Mcconnell

Malcolm McConnell was an innovative pioneer of New Zealand’s modern engineering industry. He co-founded McDonnell Dowell in 1960 and led the company’s expansion throughout New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the Middle East. He helped create the Engineering Export Association of New Zealand and was also a director of New Zealand Railways Corporation, the DFC and NZ Steel. He passed away in 1995.

Bruce Plested Bruce Plested

Bruce Plested founded Mainfreight in 1978 and has seen the company grow to become the global logistics provider it is today, with over 6,400 employees in 243 branches across New Zealand, Australia, Asia, the Americas and Europe. Bruce and Mainfreight are long-time supporters of Duffy Books in Homes, The Life Education Trust and Bairds Mainfreight Primary School.

Ward Reid Ward Reid

George Chapman Ward Reid is widely acknowledged as the founder of New Zealand’s rubber industry. Ward launched his business in 1933 and his rubber products revolutionised New Zealand’s dairy industry. The company expanded its product range to include everything from hot water bottles to car tyres. Ward was President of the Penrose Industrial Progress Association and the Auckland Manufacturers Council.

Sir John Roberts CMG Sir John Roberts

Sir John Roberts was born in Scotland and moved to Otago in 1868 to establish a stock and station business. He was a proud supporter of the Otago business community and helped launch New Zealand’s frozen meat trade. Sir John held a number of public roles, including Mayor of Dunedin and Vice-Chancellor of Otago University. He was knighted in 1891.



Young Enterprise founded the New Zealand Business Hall of Fame in 1994, to celebrate the success of our entrepreneurs and business leaders. The Laureates, who must have made a significant contribution to NZs economic and social development, provide a bank of inspiration for our students. For more information on the nominations and selection process, click here.

The New Zealand Business Hall of Fame is made possible by our sponsors and partners.

nzbhf sponsor logo lockup