News, announcements and more.

Jun 29, 2018

New Zealand Youth Awards 2018 Recipients Announced

Congratulations to 2017 Hastings Boys' High School YES team Bruthas who have won a New Zealand Youth Award for Entrepreneurship. CEO Jake Dune took home the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand Award for CEO of the Year at the Young Enterprise National Awards in 2017.

Bruthas Team 2 from Annual Review

The recipients of the New Zealand Youth Awards 2018 were announced by Minister for Youth Peeni Henare at a celebration event in Parliament today.

“It’s my privilege to celebrate these inspirational rangatahi who are leading initiatives and supporting their communities in areas such as the arts, culture, education, business and the environment,” Peeni Henare said.

In addition to announcing 17 category Awards winners, two outstanding young people were recognised as the inaugural Junior and Senior Supreme Awards recipients.

“I am pleased to announce that Injy Johnstone was named as the Senior Supreme Award recipient, and Ranisha Chand as the Junior Supreme Award recipient. It was a difficult job singling out these two young people as all recipients have demonstrated strong commitment to their important mahi. Injy and Ranisha have worked tirelessly to make a significant contribution to addressing the needs of young people in their community and deserve this extra recognition,” Peeni Henare said.

The Awards category recipients are as follows:

New Zealand Youth Award for Leadership

• Latayvia Tualasea Tautai – National Council of Women and PACIFICA speech competition winner and regular volunteer at Mount Eden prison.
• Injy Johnstone – environmental, foster children and disability advocate and New Zealand representative on two United Nations groups.
• Kaitlyn White – President of University of Canterbury’s ‘Thursdays in Black Society’, supporting both survivors and people with harmful sexual behaviours.

New Zealand Youth Award for Inclusion and Diversity

• Oliver Tapiki-Thorpe – established rural support group for LGBTQI+ youth in Kawerau and Whakatane.
• Umi Asaka – advocate of young people with disabilities and valued member of The Lucy Foundation, a charity which speaks up for the rights of people with disabilities.
• Ranisha Chand – Shakti Youth ambassador and campaigner striving to break intergenerational cycles of family violence in migrant and refugee families.

New Zealand Youth Award for Commitment to the Environment

• E Wen Wong – founder of P.S. Our Beaches to raise awareness on plastic pollution, developing a drone to detect and geo-reference macro plastics.
• Ranger Leary – filmmaker and winner of the Enviroschools Sustainable Future Award, on the dangers of single use plastics.
• Anya Bukholt-Payne – founder of the Climate Challenge, a youth programme for climate change awareness; youngest speaker at 2018 Pacific Change Conference.

New Zealand Youth Award for Entrepreneurship

• Social Enterprise Group – St Johns College Hastings – school students teamed up with young people in prison to create ‘Bruthas Ltd’, creating and successfully selling individually crafted rimu platters. The students are currently working on ‘George’ a flexible device that will relay real time information about water and rain flows to cell phones.
• Angus Grant – farming entrepreneur started his ‘lamb foster-care’ business in suburban Christchurch post- 2010 earthquake using empty sections for grazing.


To read the full article, click here.